WHAT DO I DO?

10.06.2011 18:00

People sometimes ask me what my job is. 

My job contract says "graphic designer," which basically means that I am sitting by a computer and doing some PC graphics. But that is not all I do. What I LOVE to do the most at work, is car wrapping. It is kinda difficult for me to explain what that means in english, so I am gonna show you :))

Check out this gallery to see what I was doing all day yesterday :) (Me being the tattooed one with black hair, most of the time sitting on the floor in front of the bus). I did the whole front part myself and I am really happy with the results. We don't get commisions like this very often, which is a sad thing, because I love doing it. It requires some skills in car wrapping, there are many different materials and each of them acts differently, depending on temperature, humidity, pressure... it is almost a science :D I went through a few special (and expensive, shout out to my employer for paying for that) trainings where I learned how to do it. I have 2 cerfiticates for working with special vinyls for cars and also special window/glass films. We never did that window ones, nobody wants it, and it is kinda expensive. The one we did yesterday is also very expensive and people are not willing to spend money on this lately :( And it is also bad for us, because it is hard to do it once a year, when you don't have a lot to practise on. You just need to "have it in your hand" and be sure of what you are doing and that is sometimes really hard without a lot of practise. (sigh)

Anyway, that is just what I wanted to show :) 

I am really glad I can now say "I WAS WORKING ON THAT BUS!" when I see it somewhere :) It is a city bus in Mladá Boleslav, so I am not gonna see it every day, but maybe twice a year, haha. But still I am happy with the results. My workmate did the design based on customers wishes, our exworkmate helped us with the main process (me and my workmate are both short and she is very tall, so it was helpful to have a tall person for a tall vehicle, haha)  and our male colegue was a "hold-it-bring-it" guy :)))

I think my job is interesting and I really love what I do, I just wish I could do it MORE and for better money :D

Do you like what you do?

Comment: WHAT DO I DO?

Thanks!

Datum: 15.06.2011 | Vložil: Jos

Btw, I just realized you put a link to my blog..thank you so much!!

Re: Thanks!

Datum: 15.06.2011 | Vložil: Nina_CZ

You are welcome! :))) I love your site :)

Fun stuff

Datum: 15.06.2011 | Vložil: Jos

Wrapping the bus sounds like a lot of hard work there! This is my first time seeing the process how it was done.

And to your question: do I like what I do?
Hmm...at my last job, it was an okay, not something that I actually would like to do for the rest of my life, but in the mean time it's a good way to search for another one. On the other hand I'm also starting to learn some website coding to add more skills in my resume so hopefully I can find something soon.

hmm

Datum: 11.06.2011 | Vložil: Ayca

Wohoo! That sounds fun! and I can really see the customer wishes, super pretty girls with awesome bodies, what would customers wish for other than that? :)
and my god! you are so pretty!! and so fit! and so pretty!!
keep rocking, it's working! :))

Re: hmm

Datum: 12.06.2011 | Vložil: Nina_CZ

Awwww, thank you Ayca, I am not at my goal "body" yet, but I am slowly getting there. Customers wanted to get attention of people, so they picked those models themselves :)) And the back of the bus is "transformed" to a front of the bus (it is hard to see, cause there was not a lot of space in the garage to take the whole picture of the back) so it looks like those girls are driving the bus the oposite direction and I am sure it is gonna confuse people :D but I also hope it is not gonna cause any car accidents :D

Přidat nový příspěvek